Questions About a Missouri UM/UIM Car Accident?
Uninsured or Underinsured Motorists
Accidents involving uninsured or underinsured motorists can be quite complex from a legal perspective. Victims may need to collect from both their own and the other driver’s insurance providers, and dealing with these companies can be tricky. They are in the business of making money and that means they want to pay out as little as possible, which means you are likely to encounter many car accident insurance problems.
Injured victims who say or do the wrong thing could be denied money to cover their damages. When individuals are involved in a collision with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, it’s always a good idea to hire a lawyer. Missouri car accident attorneys at Page Law will work on the victim’s behalf to help ensure he or she receives maximum compensation. Following is a brief description of both uninsured motorist (UM) and underinsured motorist (UIM) accidents.
Missouri Uninsured Motorist Accidents
In these accidents, the driver at fault has no insurance coverage at all. Hit and runs are also considered uninsured motorist accidents since the victim is not able to obtain the other driver’s insurance information. In Missouri, all drivers must carry uninsured motorist coverage. Coverage minimums are set at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Obviously, higher limits offer better protection in the event of such a crash.
Underinsured Motorist Accidents in Missouri
In this type of collision, the driver who was at fault does have some insurance coverage. However, the limits are not high enough to cover all damages incurred by the victim. The victim must approach his or her insurance company in an attempt to secure the rest of the funds needed. The catch is that the victim must have underinsured motorist coverage. In Missouri, UIM coverage is not mandatory. It is not the same as UM coverage, so individuals should specifically ask about this coverage at the time of purchasing the policy. Otherwise, individuals may only be eligible for the amount covered by the other driver’s liability coverage. In Missouri, this may be as little as $25,000.
Call 1-800-CAR-CRASH Today
If you were involved in a collision with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, contact us for legal assistance. We know how to handle the insurance companies to maximize your chances of receiving a fair payout. Our firm’s Missouri personal injury attorneys work on a contingency basis to offer you the peace of mind of knowing you won’t need to worry about fees unless you collect. We can arrange for you to sit down with a auto accident attorney free of charge to discuss your case. Contact us to set up your initial consultation.
Have you or a loved one been involved in an
accident? Contact Page Law 24/7
Download our helpful Auto Accident Guide including bonus checklist, written by attorney John J. Page.
Our firm has been featured on these stations:visit our video library
We Hold the Highest Possible Ratings and Memberships from the Professional Organizations that Matter Most:Awards & Memberships