Seeking Compensation for Hit-and-Run Crashes in Missouri
In Missouri, victims of car accidents can hold the at-fault driver financially liable r for their losses. This process becomes complicated when the at-fault driver flees the scene of the crash. It is challenging to hold someone financially accountable for medical bills, lost wages, and suffering when the authorities are struggling to track them down. It’s important to contact the police immediately if you are injured in a hit-and-run accident.
Negligent drivers can be held accountable for the damages they cause and for leaving the scene of the accident. Under Missouri Statute 577.060.1: “A person commits the crime of leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident when being the operator or driver of a vehicle…knowing that an injury has been caused to a person or damage has been caused to property, due to his culpability or to accident, he leaves the place of the injury, damage or accident without stopping.” Drivers in Missouri must remain at the scene and exchange information with those involved in the crash.
Officials in Missouri often use eyewitness information, broken car parts, and security camera footage to find hit-and-run drivers. When they are able to apprehend a hit-and-run driver, the injured party will be able to file a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver to get the financial compensation they are entitled to.
However, not all hit-and-run drivers are apprehended. If you are not able to write down the license plate number of the at-fault driver, there is a good chance that he or she may get away. This means you have to deal with your own insurance company to pursue compensation.
Under Missouri law, drivers must carry Uninsured Motorist coverage of $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident. This type of coverage helps protect you if you are involved in a crash with an uninsured driver, but it also applies to hit-and-run accidents. This means compensation may be available through your own insurance coverage in a hit-and-run situation.
It is a mistake to assume your insurance company will give you fair compensation just because you are their insured. You may need legal guidance to ensure you are navigating the Uninsured Motorist claim process correctly. Contact an experienced Missouri personal injury lawyer for more information.
Have you or a loved one been involved in an
accident? Contact Page Law 24/7