Why You Need More Than Missouri’s Minimum Auto Insurance
Missouri law currently requires drivers to carry certain types of auto insurance and minimum amounts of coverage. These include minimum limits of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $10,000 per accident for property damage.
While this minimum insurance provides valuable protection in many accidents, it isn’t enough to ensure you’re fully covered if you’re in an auto accident, either within Missouri or elsewhere in the U.S. Accidents involving animals, certain injuries, and accidents with uninsured or underinsured drivers may leave you vulnerable to astronomical costs for medical bills, auto repair, and other losses.
To protect yourself and those you love on the road, you may wish to consider adding higher limits and additional types of coverage to your policy. Some commonly-chosen policy additions include:
- Comprehensive coverage. Also known as “comp,” this coverage pays for damage suffered by collisions with animals or with other non-vehicle objects. It may also pay for damage caused by weather.
- Collision coverage. Collision coverage takes care of damage to your car if you are in an accident. If you have an auto loan, you may be required to have collision coverage.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If you are injured in a hit-and-run accident or in a crash with a driver who doesn’t have insurance or whose limits are too low to cover all your losses, uninsured/underinsured coverage may kick in to cover the difference.
Aggressive Illinois and Missouri uninsured car accident attorney John Page will help you fight for the compensation you deserve after a car accident, whether you’re dealing with an insurance company or bringing a lawsuit in court. For a free and confidential consultation, call (314) 322-8515 today.
Have you or a loved one been involved in an
accident? Contact Page Law 24/7